Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bellport_gw

Long Island nurseries: please list your favorites!

Bellport
20 years ago

Hello fellow LIers,

Instead of ordering by mail this year, I'd like to buy all of my perennials locally. It would be great to have a thread that I can print out and take along with me - I have major spring shopping to do! So please tell me your favorites here in Long Island, along with name of city.

I'll start:

Cheap Sam's - north service road on LIE near Nichols Rad

Marders - Bridgehampton (nice stuff)

Lowe's/Kmart/Home Depot - anywhere (what can I say? they're cheap!)

Peconic River Herb Farm - can't remember name of town (nice selection)

Bayport Flower House - Bayport

Please list yours too - Thanks!

Angie

Comments (65)

• Bellport
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks again all! I didn't realize there were so many nurseries (good ones) on the island.

Happy Gardening fellow LIers!

Angie

• specialteach
    19 years ago

I am a newbie here and now live in Suffolk. It is good to know all the ones I have not yet been to.

I work at Martin Viette in Brookville, so that one is at the top of my list and a definite recommendation. You don't have to buy, it is just a great place to visit and walk around. It is on 43 acres.

Karen

• Bellport
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Karen, how fun it must be to work at Martin Viette. If I ever get over there, I hope to bump into you to say hello!

Angie

• Bellport
    Original Author
    19 years ago

I just went to the Daisy Garden today in Bayport. GREAT prices on BIG plants! I picked up 3 huge balloon flowers, a HUGE centaurea, and some very, very well-priced annuals.

Thanks for that recommendation Lee!

This weekend, off to the Moriches area or Martin Viette/Hick's.

Fun!

Angie

• alicats_garden
    19 years ago

Hello!

Brookville Nurseries, on 25A in Brookville.

Great selection of all types of plants, trees and shrubs, herbs and vegetables.